The Park Plaza Hotel Seguin is a charming five-story property steeped in 100 years of rich history and tradition. Designed by Texan architect Leo M.J. Dielmann, one of the most successful architects of his time, the hotel opened in 1917 and was a point of pride for the approximately 5,000 locals who called Seguin home. The property has changed hands several times over the years. Texas Lutheran College bought the hotel to be used as a men’s dormitory, it was an apartment building between 1964 and 1978 and in the 80s, it was converted into an office building. In 1979, The Park Plaza Hotel Seguin rightfully earned a spot on the National Register of Historical Places.
Renovations by award winning designer Kathy Anderson have breathed life back into this elegant, full scale boutique hotel with Dielmann’s original drawings being used for inspiration. While keeping the flavor of the early 20th century architecture, modern touches and amenities have been added throughout the hotel and guest rooms. The original crown molding, banisters, tile flooring and marble staircase were restored and blend tastefully with the new décor. Located in the center of what is now known as the Historic Downtown District, The Park Plaza Hotel Seguin is standing tall, just as it was a century ago, welcoming visitors and locals to enjoy all it has to offer.